The Baptism of the Lord

This painting of The Baptism of the Lord  recalls the moment that Jesus is Baptized in the presence of the Holy Spirit and God the Father. In the background you can see St. Justin Martyr Catholic Church. It is the church I was ordained to the Permanent Deaconate in the Galveston/Houston Arch Diocese in 1999. In the painting my fellow Deacons and I are in the clouds above. My wife hovers behind me and is trying to pull me away as to illustrate the difficult balance of ministry and family life that is at the core of our ministry. The figures pointing towards Jesus is my homage to the great Renaissance artist Leonardo DaVinci who used this symbol to illustrate the importance of the central figure in his paintings. In this painting the central figure is Jesus.

For a print of this original design please contact Louis Provenzano at proagency@gmail.com or call me at 713-478-9421.

This painting was commissioned by the pastor at St. Justin Martyr to be placed in the church next to the Baptismal Font.

Oil on canvas 60″ x 72″  (unframed)

Leave a comment